Nia's Workout Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

UCSD’s swim conditioning

on May 2, 2012

Swimming is one of the best forms of cardio exercises. The sport can be performed by all different of levels of swimmers of all different ages. I have been taking UCSD’s swim conditioning course for two quarters now and have learned many new things. From the different strokes to how to utilize the stop watch, the course has given me a balanced routine that I can practice throughout life.

Swimming laps in general can be beneficial to many people, it helps with cardio health, weight loss and muscle conditioning. Depending on the routine, swimmers can experience a fun way to work out. As a beginner I was a bit scared, I’ve never been taught how to swim laps properly, in fact, I was kicked off my middle school swim team for not knowing how to swim in one lane. So I signed up for the course with the hopes of learning how to make dimming beneficial to my workout routine. The instructor identified my weakness and helped me correct my freestyle stroke.

The class is structured differently everyday. Sometimes we practice our long distance workouts and other days we will work on skills to improve our different strokes. My cardio has improve drastically. The class is fun. I recommend checking it out.

Leave a Reply

